Skip to main content

Senior Capstone: Databases

About Databases

Databases allow you to search online reference materials, books, journals, magazines, newspapers, and even websites and videos all at once. Some databases require users to log-in from home, but all the listed databases should be immediately accessible on campus.

Databases are indexed differently and may require different searches to find the information you need. It is always a good idea to choose advanced search and full-text when possible so you can select your filters and read the results online.

Boolean

Don't forget to use Boolean operators in databases that allow it! How do boolean operators work? Using the following words in uppercase letters can expand or narrow your search.

AND

AND will search for all items including both terms. For example: 

  • A Keyword search for "Roman AND warfare" will return items that on Roman warfare, but not items on Roman sculpture or guerilla warfare.

This is a great option if you are getting too many results or results that are not specific enough.  

NOT

NOT will return less results by returning items that only return one of the terms and exclude the other. For example:

  • If you are looking for information on Falcons, but keep getting information on the Atlanta team, try searching with "Falcons NOT Atlanta". This will eliminate every falcon result with the word Atlanta in it.

This is a great option if you are getting too many irrelevant results.

OR

OR will search for both terms at once. For example:

  • If you search for doctors OR physicians, you will get all items that include either term.

This is a great option if you are not getting enough results or are not sure which term the author may have used.

Watch the YouTube video to the right for more information on Boolean operators.

Databases

J-stor
For academic journals, J-stor is a great database to search. Remember to specify language in advanced searching or you may end up with articles in languages you don't understand. You can also narrow your results by putting a check in the disciplines you wish to search. Contact Ms. Foust Colburn if you need access from home.

Salem History
Salem history reference books from the library are available online and include texts such as Great Lives from History: Ancient World, Milestone Documents from World History and Milestone Documents from World Religions. Contact Ms. Foust Colburn for access from home.

Through AVL

Biography Reference Bank
This WilsonWeb database can help you locate information on a specific person, from biography reference and obituary sources to magazine and newspaper articles. Remember to verify your person's identity through dates or job descriptions when the results appear.

History Reference Center
Browse or search this database for reference materials, books, and articles on the Ancient world. Remember to select full-text to read your results online.

Literature Resources from Gale
Find biographies, literary criticism, literary works and multimedia on authors.

Oxford Reference Online
Search Oxford's Reference books through this AVL sponsored database.

Scribner Writer's Series
View a biography of an author's life and works.

Student Research Center
This EBSCOhost database searched newspapers, magazines, books and encyclopedias, biographies, images, maps, videos, primary sources documents, and radio transcripts all at once. 

Twayne Author Series
This resource includes full text discussions of an author's works and a chronology of the author's life.

Boolean Searching

Lord Byron

The most flamboyant and notorious of the major Romantics, George Gordon, Lord Byron, was likewise the most fashionable poet of the day. He created an immensely popular Romantic hero—defiant, melancholy, haunted by secret guilt—for which, to many, he seemed the model.