It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Primary Sources: Do we have any primary sources?
This LibGuide is designed to provide students with a basic introduction to primary sources and to give them some places to begin locating primary source documents.
There are quite a few books in our library which offer access to primary sources. To find sources that will enahnce your research, use the keyword search in Destiny to search for "your topic" and "primary source*."
Middle ages. by Judson Knight ; edited by Judy Galens
Call Number: Ref 909.07 Kni
Publication Date: 2001
Presents nineteen historical and cultural writings from the Middle Ages, each with introductions providing context, plus lists of related readings and Web sites.
Milestone documents in American history. exploring the primary sources that shaped America by Paul Finkelman, editor in chief ; Bruce A. Lesh, consulting editor
Call Number: Ref 973 Mil
Publication Date: 2008
This fully illustrated, four-volume set will treat more than 133 iconic documents from the Revolutionary era to the twenty-first century.
The struggle against slavery : a history in documents by David Waldstreicher
Call Number: 306.3 Wal
Publication Date: c2001
A collection of primary sources, from the colonial era to the Civil War, that document the struggle of free blacks, slaves, and other Americans to end slavery
Presidents from Reagan through Clinton, 1981-2001 : debating the issues in pro and con primary documents by Lane Crothers and Nancy S. Lind.
Call Number: 320.6 Cro
Publication Date: 2002
Presents primary documents from Presidents Reagan, Bush, and Clinton and their opponents concerning several controversial issues and events, and provides context and analysis. Covers such topics as the Iran-Contra scandal, welfare reform, and peacekeeping in Somalia.
U.S. immigration and naturalization laws and issues : a documentary history by Michael LeMay and Elliott Robert Barkan
Call Number: 342.73 Lem
Publication Date: 1999
Contains over one hundred primary documents that combine to provide a history of U.S. immigration and naturalization laws and issues, including court cases, opinion pieces, and other texts.
The death penalty by Jean Alicia Elster
Call Number: 345.73 Els
Publication Date: 2005
Presents a collection of essays that provide arguments for and against the death penalty in the United States, using both primary and secondary sources to support each position--speeches, court cases, newspaper accounts--it examines the way the attitudes toward the death have changed, or remained the same, throughout history.
Words of the ancient Romans : primary sources by Don Nardo
Call Number: 937 Nar
Publication Date: 2003
Presents a historical perspective and comprehensive picture of the cultural, political, and social events that characterized ancient Rome.
The Irish famine : a documentary history by Noel Kissane
Call Number: 941.5 Kis
Publication Date: 1995
A history of the Irish potato famine (1845-1848) featuring many primary resources including newspapers, official governmental reports, and parliamentary debates that discuss relief works, soup kitchens, workhouses, fever and diseases, and emigration.
The War of 1812 by David S. Heidler and Jeanne T. Heidler
Call Number: 973.5 Hei
Publication Date: 2002
Provides an overview of the causes of the War of 1812, looks at various aspects of the conflict, including Thomas Jefferson's attempts to use sanctions as a diplomatic tool, U.S.-Indian relations, the struggles of the U.S. to fight and bankroll the war, and the Treaty of Ghent which ended the war, and includes biographies, a time line, and primary source documents.
The Progressive Era by Faith Jaycox
Call Number: 973.8 Jay
Publication Date: 2005
Contains excerpts from memoirs, diaries, letters, newspapers, speeches, advertisements, and other primary sources that provide eyewitness reports on the Progressive Era in America, from 1890 to 1920, and features introductory essays, chronologies, period illustrations and photographs, and brief biographies of key individuals.
Making of America is a database maintained by the University of Michigan and Cornell University. The primary source documents it contains reference the United States from Antebellum times through Reconstruction.
History Matters' database, "Many Pasts," contains over 1000 primary sources documenting the lives of "ordinary Americans" beginning as early as the 1530s.