Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference materials are a great way to get an overview of your topic. They do not generally circulate outside of the library, but you can make copies of important content using the copier by Ms. Foust Colburn's office.
Reference materials include:
- biographical sources
- geographical sources
- ready reference materials
When using these sources, start with the index (often in the last volume if the material is a multi-volume set). You can also try the table of contents or the appropriate volume for your subject's name if the resource is arranged alphabetically.
Search Destiny for Reference
Featured Ancient Rome Reference
Ancient Writers Greece and Rome by
Call Number: Ref 880 Anc
Publication Date: c1982
Contains forty-seven essays that provide information about the lives and significant achievements of Greek and Roman writers born before A.D. 337, each with a selected bibliography; and includes a chronology of events, and an alphabetical index.
Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman world
Call Number: REF 912.38 Tal
Publication Date: 2000
Contains ninety-nine color maps that chart the world of the ancient Greeks and Romans, covering the territory of over seventy-five modern countries; presented in large-scale format, with a CD-ROM map-by-map directory.
Great Lives from History: The ancient world, prehistory-476 C.E. by
Call Number: Ref 920.03 Anc
Publication Date: c2004
Contains 325 alphabetically arranged entries that profile significant men and women of the ancient world, from prehistory to the fall of Rome, each with information on the subject's early life, notable achievements, and an overview of his or her place in history. Includes illustrations, succession lists, genealogies, maps, and tables.
Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire by
Call Number: Ref 937.06 Bun
Publication Date: 1994
Examines in A-to-Z format the people, places, events, and ideas of the era from the reign of Julius Caesar to the fall of Romulus Augustulus.
Ancient Greece and Rome : an Encyclopedia for Students
Call Number: Ref 938 Anc
Publication Date: 1998
Presents a history of ancient Greece and Rome as well as information about the literature and daily life of these early civilizations.