Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference materials are a great way to get an overview of your topic. They do not generally circulate outside of the library, but you can make copies of important content using the copier by Ms. Foust Colburn's office.
Reference materials include:
- biographical sources
- geographical sources
- ready reference materials
When using these sources, start with the index (often in the last volume if the material is a multi-volume set). You can also try the table of contents or the appropriate volume for your subject's name if the resource is arranged alphabetically.
Search Destiny for Reference
Featured Literary Criticism Reference
African American Writers by
Call Number: REF 810.9 Afr
Publication Date: 1991
A collection of thirty-four critical and biographical essays on African-American writers, ranging from slave narratives to contemporary feminist authors, each including a selected bibliography.
American Writers : a Collection of Literary Biographies.
Call Number: REF 810.9 Ame
Publication Date: c1974-c2003
Contains essays that provide information about the lives, careers, and works of authors who have made significant contributions to American literature, each with a brief biography, a critical analysis and evaluation of the writer's work, and a selected bibliography. Includes cumulative indexes in each volume.
American Writers Classics by
Call Number: REF 810.9 CLA
Publication Date: 2003
Profiles twenty important works of literature, including novels, poems, plays, and nonfiction, analyzing them, describing their impact and influence, and providing an author chronology and bibliographies for each.
British Writers by
Call Number: REF 820 Bri
Publication Date: c1979-c2004
Contains essays that provide information about authors who have made significant contributions to English literature, each featuring a brief biography, a survey of principal writings, an assessment of the writer's work as a whole, and a bibliography.
Encyclopedia of the Novel by
Call Number: REF 809.3 Sch
Publication Date: 1998
Contains approximately 650 alphabetically arranged articles that provide information about novels, covering novelists and their works, various aspects of the genre, and the factors behind the rise and popularity of the novel in countries and regions around the world.
Identities and Issues in Literature by
Call Number: REF 810.9 Ide
Publication Date: 1997
Contains over eight hundred alphabetically arranged articles that discuss works, authors, and subjects in North American literature that speak to the theme of identity; and includes a mediagraphy, bibliography, category list, and index.
Thematic Guide to Modern Drama by
Call Number: REF 809 Abb
Publication Date: 2003
Contains thirty-three alphabetically arranged entries, each of which explores a theme in modern drama from the perspectives of three representative plays.
Twentieth century authors : a biographical dictionary of modern literature
Call Number: REF 920.03 KUN
Publication Date: 1973
Presents biographical sketches of 1850 twentieth-century authors.