Skip to Main Content

The Power of One: Databases

This Libguide will help you research South Africa and the topics mentioned in The Power of One.

About Databases

Databases allow you to search online reference materials, books, journals, magazines, newspapers, and even websites and videos all at once. Some databases require users to log-in from home, but all the listed databases should be immediately accessible on campus.

Databases are indexed differently and may require different searches to find the information you need. It is always a good idea to choose advanced search and full-text when possible so you can select your filters and read the results online.

Boolean

Don't forget to use Boolean operators in databases that allow it!

How do boolean operators work? Using the following words in uppercase letters can expand or narrow your search.

AND

AND will search for all items including both terms. For example: 

  • A Keyword search for "Roman AND warfare" will return items that on Roman warfare, but not items on Roman sculpture or guerilla warfare.

This is a great option if you are getting too many results or results that are not specific enough.  

NOT

NOT will return less results by returning items that only return one of the terms and exclude the other. For example:

  • If you are looking for information on Falcons, but keep getting information on the Atlanta team, try searching with "Falcons NOT Atlanta". This will eliminate every falcon result with the word Atlanta in it.

This is a great option if you are getting too many irrelevant results.

OR

OR will search for both terms at once. For example:

  • If you search for doctors OR physicians, you will get all items that include either term.

This is a great option if you are not getting enough results or are not sure which term the author may have used.

Watch the YouTube video to the right for more information on Boolean operators.

Databases for South Africa

J-stor

For academic journals, J-stor is a great database to search. Remember to specify language in advanced searching or you may end up with articles in languages you don't understand. You can also narrow your results by putting a check in the disciplines you wish to search. Contact Ms. Foust Colburn if you need access from home.

Through AVL

Academic Search Premiere

This college-level resource contains a number of relevant articles for your research. Remember to select both "full-text" and "Scholarly Journals" to find journal articles online.

Gale Power Search

Use Advanced Searching to get the most targeted results. 

Boolean Searching

Journals

There are journals on almost every subject.
Using the databases suggested, I found these journal articles:

"Non-Europeans Should Be Kept away from the Temptations of Towns": Controlling Black South African Soldiers during the Second World War
Louis Grundlingh
The International Journal of African Historical Studies , Vol. 25, No. 3 (1992), pp. 539-560
 
Settlement and Servitude in Zululand, 1918-1948
David Lincoln
The International Journal of African Historical Studies , Vol. 28, No. 1 (1995), pp. 49-67
 
The Allure of Violence: Men, Race and Masculinity on the South African Goldmines, 1900-1950
Keith Breckenridge
Journal of Southern African Studies , Vol. 24, No. 4, Special Issue on Masculinities in Southern Africa (Dec., 1998), pp. 669-693
 
The Dutch Reformed Church and Apartheid
Susan Rennie Ritner
Journal of Contemporary History , Vol. 2, No. 4, Church and Politics (Oct., 1967), pp. 17-37
 

Imagery, Symbolism And Tradition In A South African Bantustan: Mangosuthu Buthelezi, Inkatha, And..Harries, Patrick History & Theory 32.4 (1993): 105. Academic Search Premierhttp://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=9406070006&site=ehost-live 

Jews and the Racial State: Legacies of the Holocaust in Apartheid South Africa, 1945-60.
Gilbert S. Jewish Social Studies Vol. 16, No. 3, (Apr., 2010), pp. 32-64. Academic Search Premier. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=59795535&site=ehost-live 

Gender, Migrancy, and South African Popular Music in the Late 1940s and the 1950s
Christopher Ballantine
Ethnomusicology , Vol. 44, No. 3 (Autumn, 2000), pp. 376-407
 
Leisure and Social Identity in Cape Town, British Cape Colony, 1838-1910
Vivian Bickford-Smith
Kronos , No. 25, Pre-millennium issue (1998/1999), pp. 103-128
 
Apartheid Planning in South Africa: The Case of Port Elizabeth
A. J. Christopher
The Geographical Journal , Vol. 153, No. 2 (Jul., 1987), pp. 195-204
Article Stable URL: