Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mosaics in the Ancient World: Mosaic Sites

Prof. Dunar's Latin I, II, IV, Mediterranean Archaeology Research

Images

Seviac gallo roman villa

Wikimeida Commons is an open data base of free-use images. You can search by "mosaics" to get a list of mosaic categories, times periods, countries, and even how-to images. If you search by specific mosiac, "pella, macedonia mosaic", you will get images of that site. There is no information on these pages, just images.

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Main_Page

Ancient Mosaics includes many beautiful photographs of the mosaics. The site includes a page of the author's mosaic art and some good links to other artists and art supply houses.

http://www.classicalmosaics.com/photo_album.htm

Online Resources

ABC-CLIO, World History, Ancient and Medieval Cultures

http://databases.abc-clio.com/Multi/


History Study Center

This database holds maps, images, historical documents, scholarly articles, and articles in dictionaries and encyclopedia.

http://www.historystudycenter.com/home/home.do

Login is randolph; password is raiders

 Oxford Reference

This is a database aggregator, meaning Oxford Reference will search all availabe sites for information. The database includes Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture, as well as many others. It is available to us via Alabama Virtual Library.

http://www.oxfordreference.com/

Mosaicology

This is a blog, compiled by a layman, not an academic scholar. However, it is well put together, with links and citations, and lots of photographs. It's worth perusing, especially if you haven't chosen a site yet.

http://mosaicology.blogspot.com/2010/03/essential-mosaic-guide-part-i.html

More Sites for Sites!

Take these with a grain of salt. Some are blogs, some are travel guides, but others are from museums and universities.

Prassade, Romania

http://www.cimec.ro/Arheologie/finds/bizere/bizere.htm

Jerusalem, Isreal

http://www.viator.com/Jerusalem-tourism/Byzantine-church-and-Mosaics-

Antioch, Turkey

http://www.artbma.org/collection/overview/mosaics.html

Vatican City, Museum and Workshop

http://vaticanguides.com/vatican-city-mosaic.html

Rome, Italy, Church of San Clemente

http://www.aug.edu/augusta/iconography/sanClemente/apse.html

 Rome, Italy, Capitoline Museum

http://www.getty.edu/art/exhibitions/lion_attacking_horse/

Palermo, Italy

http://www.wga.hu/html_m/zgothic/mosaics/4palatin/index.html

 Chersonesos, Ukraine

http://www.utexas.edu/research/ica/publications/ICA_publications/crim_chers/01.pdf

 

Sites for Sites!

Take these with a grain of salt. Some are blogs, some are travel guides, but others are from museums and universities.


Ostia Antica, Italy

 http://www.ostia-antica.org/

Zeugma, Italy

http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/ancient/gallery-roman-mosaics.html

Italica, Spain

http://www.livius.org/io-iz/italica/italica2.html

Palestrina (Praeneste), Italy

http://archaeologicalworld.blogspot.com/2012/07/nile-mosaic-of-palestrina.html#!/2012/07/nile-mosaic-of-palestrina.html

Conimbriga, Portugal

http://www.quintadoriodao.com/eng/out/conimbriga.html

Constantinople, Turkey

http://www.livius.org/cn-cs/constantinople/constantinople_palace_mosaics.html

Pompeii

http://www.pompeionline.net/pompeii/mosaic.htm

Trastevere, Italy (and others)

http://www.wga.hu/html_m/zgothic/mosaics/2trastev/index.html

Trier, Germany

http://www.livius.org/to-ts/trier/trier-cathedral.html

Pella, Macedonia

http://www.macedonian-heritage.gr/HellenicMacedonia/en/B1.2.3.3.html

Cordoba, Spain

http://www.artencordoba.co.uk/CHRISTIAN-KINGS-ALCAZAR/Christian-Kings-Alcazar-Cordoba-mosaic-room.html