Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 by
Call Number: Ref 973.04
Publication Date: 2006-04-06
Milestone Documents in American History by
Call Number: Ref 973 Mil
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
Encyclopedia of Southern Culture by
Call Number: 975.003 Enc
Publication Date: 1989-09-18
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by
Call Number: REF 305.896
Publication Date: 1995-12-01
Chronology of World Slavery by
Call Number: Ref 306.3 Rod
Publication Date: 1999-06-15
Proslavery argument by Rev. Dr. Richard Furman, 1835
Rev. Dr. Richard Furman's EXPOSITION of
The Views of the Baptists, RELATIVE TO THE
COLOURED POPULATION In the United States IN
A COMMUNICATION To the Governor of South-Carolina -------- [SECOND EDITION.] -------- CHARLESTON: PRINTED BY A.E. MILLER No. 4 Broad-st. -- 1838.
Databases and Articles
Search ABC-CLIO - American History Database
French, John. "Slave Power Conspiracy." American History. ABC-CLIO, 2015. Web. 16 Oct. 2015.
12 Years a Slave and Glory - Movies
Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
North American Slave Narratives
"North American Slave Narratives" collects books and articles that document the individual and collective story of African Americans struggling for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries. This collection includes all the existing autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920. Also included are many of the biographies of fugitive and former slaves and some significant fictionalized slave narratives published in English before 1920
Fanny Kemble's Journal: Residence on a Georgian Plantation
"I have sometimes been haunted with the idea that it was an imperative duty, knowing what I know, and having seen what I have seen, to do all that lies in my power to show the dangers and the evils of this frightful institution." This line, written in a letter to a friend one year after leaving the Butler plantations, expresses Fanny Kemble's aversion to slavery. She had been working on her journal -- a revealing look at southern plantations in which she detailed the injustices of slavery -- but another two decades would pass before her journal would be published.