Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A subset of Google containing peer-reviewed scholarly articles and book reviews. Search engine is familiar and one can often find articles from JSTOR easier here.
Facts on File
This resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and videos.
A collection of scholarly, peer reviewed journal articles. Make sure to indicate you want journals and full text. Use the search term Frankenstein AND _____. For example, Frankenstein and masculinity
Artemis Literary Sources
Artemis Literary Sources is found within the AVL (Alabama Virtual Library) collection.
Search broadly first ("Frankenstein") and then use the limiting feature to narrow in on a topic. Limit by "worm" for example.
No need to use the quotes.
Find historical newspapers from across the United States and beyond. Explore newspaper articles and clippings for help with genealogy, history and other research.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is located in the AVL (Alabama Virtual Library). This database is a collection of reference titles which you should limit to Literature. From there, you may simply search by Frankenstein, or add another search term to limit the results further. You may then limit by type of result (critical essay, biography, etc).
Gale General Reference Center Gold
Gale General Reference Center Gold
Located in the the AVL, this database is a collection of reference titles which you should limit to Literature. From there, you may simply search by Frankenstein, or add another search term to limit the results further. You may then limit by type of result (critical essay, biography, etc). Search broad term "Frankenstein" and then narrow down with that subset.
Research in Context
Research in Context is part of the AVL. It is a collection of brief reference articles, some magazine articles, some newspaper articles as well as other media. The best way to search this database is broadly, and then narrow by medium.
Scribner Writer Series and the Twayne Author Series
The Scribner Writer Series and the Twayne Author Series are both located in the AVL. They are digital version of reference book about prominent authors. Both contain reference articles about the authors as well as a number of critical essays about their works.
Infotrac General OneFile
The Infotrac General OneFile is located in the AVL. This database indexes many, many scholarly journals in many disciplines.
For this project, go to advanced search and indicate you would like full text, peer reviewed journals, but no book reviews. Search for Frankenstein and "Sublime and Beautiful" for a good example.
Britannica eBooks are located in the AVL. They are simple a set of digital reference books about all topics. You may narrow your search to only those concerned with Literature. You may then read the books online. Search the table of contents and/or the index like you would any reference book.
MasterFile Premier is located in the AVL. Use the Advanced Search to pair Frankenstein with various themes. You may also limit your results to peer-reviewed articles in full text.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is located in the AVL. you may enter keywords right away in teh search box, and then limit by academic journals. For example, Frankenstein and creation
Book Collection: Non-Fiction Books
There are a collection of random Non-Fiction Books in the AVL. Use the Advanced search option to narrow down your results to books covering literary criticism of Frankenstein.